Thoth Tarot Deck

Thoth Tarot Deck

When I first began writing fiction, something happened that I didn’t expect. I hit a wall. A big, steel, high as fuck wall. I’d been writing articles for years before having to take a hiatus to care for my parents. I still kept writing but it wasn’t fiction. Small things; poems, true stories, weird events; things like that. Writing fiction, though, is a different horse. It has six legs and can be a mean mother fucker. Rather than give up, I did what any writer would do and tried to write past the wall.

Every writer has encountered that wall. Whether you’ve been at it for a day or for 50 years, that wall is big and dark and it has your name written all over it. When it happened to me, I had an ally I didn’t expect; the tarot deck.

As it happened, I was using the Thoth Tarot deck at the time. Designed by Aleister Crowley, it was fundamentally altered from the traditional Rider-Waite deck in some very significant ways. It was these alterations that helped me fight that wall.

Crowley believed that the tarot decks used up to that point were flawed. He believed that to keep the whole magick system secret, the designers of the decks changed things. So, he changed them back. Typical Crowley, really.

What Crowley understood, and I came to learn, was that the tarot was a tool but a flawed tool was useless. Because of it’s unique quality, I came to use the deck to blast through that wall known as WRITER’S BLOCK. It’s the very changes that make the Thoth deck uniquely designed to do just that.

In this upcoming blog series, I will show you, my faithful readers, how to use the Thoth Tarot deck to blast through your own walls. No, you don’t actually have to be a writer to get use out of it. I will show you how to use the deck to generate ideas that will enable to you to move forward on projects, ideas or just in life. This isn’t mysticism, it’s just common sense that anyone can use whether you use the tarot or not. You don’t need any special skills or knowledge. You don’t need crystals or know how to meditate. All you need to do is learn how to look and see what’s in front of you.

As I will explain later, I use the Thoth tarot deck because it’s uniquely designed. You’ll come to learn (and love) this design. I recommend you use the same deck and if you choose to change to another deck, do so after the series which I will post once a week.

Welcome.

 

