Today is the day of Christmas Eve and I guess you got your present. I wonder if you actually worked for it or if it came easy for you. Did you appreciate what you took?

See, I woke up this morning and was going to get a few last minute things. Not much. See, I don’t have a lot of friends and don’t really celebrate Christmas. I have two friends, though, who mean the world to me and they do celebrate Christmas. While I made them some things with my own two little hands, I wanted to top up the gifts with some chocolate. Just something from the Dollar Store. You know?

Imagine my surprise when I woke up and discovered that you’d already been into my bank account. You left me with -$1.71 in that account. Less than nothing. You got the last $250 I had to my name. Everything I had, which wasn’t much but you got it.

So I wonder if you’re proud of yourself. Did that money go into an already swollen account full of stolen money? Does it go to make your car payments? I don’t own a car, see. I take the bus. That money was going to get me a bus pass. I can’t afford a car. Did the money go to paying the mortgage on your house? I don’t own a house. I live in low-income housing.

I keep hoping that you’re someone who was so desperate for the money that you did something you thought you’d never do. Steal. However, I’m not that naïve. I know what really happened. You didn’t need the money, you wanted it and could take it.

Maybe you’re feeding a drug addiction and have a few computer skills. I don’t have a drug addiction. I take enough drugs because of my diabetes just to stay alive. That’s okay. Obviously your need for crack is more important than my need for food.

I wish I could say all this to your face. I wish you could look me in the eye and tell me why you thought this was a good idea. Did you think it was a victimless crime? That no one would be hurt? It was my last $250. Tell me how I’m supposed to get to my psychologist appointment so I can deal with my anxiety? Those appointments are supposed to bring me to a place where I can maybe start working again. Or, hell, just go out in public alone again. I won’t get to that appointment, though. You’re too busy drinking up my last $250.

I’m not angry about the money, really. I’m angry because you invaded my life and violated my peace. On Christmas Eve. If you had approached me and looked me in the eye, told me that you needed the money desperately, maybe I would have helped you. You took that choice away from me. You violated my right to say no.

So, I’m taking back my right to say no. I’m giving you a gift. See, I’m a Wiccan (a witch) and I’m not allowed to cause harm to anyone. We follow the Rede which says; An Though It Harm None, Do As Thou Will. Okay. I can do that. There’s another rule, though, that says why harming people isn’t a good idea. It’s called the Law of Three and says that what you do will come back threefold.

Therefore, I’m giving you a Christmas Wish. Just one and you might want to use it wisely. The wish works like this; if you’re a good person who does good things, then you’ll have good things come to you. However, if you’re a person who’s done harm to others deliberately (yes, stealing counts as harm) then what you’ve done will come back to you threefold.

My Christmas Wish to you, then, is the Law of Three. May you have the luck of it.

