“My heart has joined the thousand, for my friend stopped running today” – Richard Adams

Poppy Wreath

I remember where I was on September 11, 2001. It’s a moment I will never forget as I heard, second-hand, about airplanes flying into the towers in New York. I remember thinking, “those poor people. Will they be okay?”

Today I will always remember where I was when Michael Zehaf-Bibeau killed Cpl Nathan Cirillo. I will always remember the pride I felt when Sergeant-At-Arms Kevin Vickers shot the terrorist and saved many innocent people from being hurt. I will always remember the fear and anger and shame that this happened in my country.

I will remember and rise above it.

This act, this disgusting display of hate by terrorists will not define my country. It will not turn my fellow Canadians into fear mongering haters. We will meet this threat with calm reason and keep our country safe as we have met any threat that we have faced in the past.

I do not doubt this.

For now, my heart goes out to the friends and family of Cpl. Nathan Cirillo. They will face difficult times ahead as they say good-bye to their loved one taken from them far too soon. Know that you are not alone. An entire country stands with you right now.

