Debra DiGiovanni

Debra DiGiovanni

I have a list of celebrities that make me giggle like a schoolgirl and sigh longingly. They don’t include the likes of Hugh Jackman, although he’s great material for the movie I have going in my head when I’m in the shower. No, my list of A-class celebrities include people like comedienne, Debra DiGiovanni and actor, Gideon Emery among others.

When I think of Debra or Gideon, I see two people who have made it to a place I’d like to be. They’re in Hollywood, man! Movie stars, swimming pools. They get to have adventures and meet people. Plus, they’re beautiful people. Debra has a smile that can light up a room and an attitude that gives her strutting rights. Her wit is sharp and cunning and I love a woman who can make me laugh. Gideon is not only an amazing actor, he’s also got a voice that can make a celibate nun reconsider her vows. Don’t believe me? Listen to his character Fenris on the game Dragon Age II say, “I am yours” sometime. Yes, I’m a huge fan of both of them.

Recently I had a bout of self-doubt. You know the kind I mean; where you look at your life and wonder what the hell you’re doing. Since I have anxiety, there’s an extra bonus of a panic attack every other day. I have a rule where I try to find three things to be grateful for each day but when you’re down to being grateful for cold water, you’re really reaching.

There are times when I feel like I’m dancing a polka to Blue Oyster Cult. Not just out of time but out of sync as well. It’s at times like these that I reach out in all directions for some help. I did that and was amazed. Did you know that even those who have made it like Debra and Gideon have self-doubt? Shocking, I know!

There are those who may think I’m being sarcastic here but I’m not. I was honestly surprised to find out that stars like them had problems with self-doubt. I mean, they’re working in the field they love. They don’t have to worry about rent or groceries or hear from some company because your bill is three months overdue.

Do they?

We all suffer from insecurity from time to time and that’s normal. We all stop and wonder if we chose the wrong path in life. That leaves us wondering about the path not taken. Did we make the right choice? Shouldn’t there be a sign that we’re going in the right direction? I’m not big on taking things on faith. I need evidence that the way I’m going is the right way and finding that evidence isn’t always easy. Yet it’s there if we really look at it.

I’m a Corporate Storyteller and often say the evidence is there in the story. So, in the depths of my anxiety I looked to my own story and saw the evidence that I needed. I’ve come so far in the two years since I’ve started this journey and I’m amazed at what I’ve accomplished. I’ve found my path again and I’d like to share some thoughts on how to overcome your own self-doubt.

  1. Use your story. All stories have a beginning and an end. Where did yours begin? Where are you now? I’m willing to be that if you really take a look at your journey, you’ll see just how far you’ve come. Celebrate that.
  2. Identify your marker points. At the beginning of your journey you set out certain goals for yourself. Like any story, these are your marker points. They tell you where you are in your journey. Maybe the reason you feel lost is because you’ve lost sight of them. This is an opportunity to reorient yourself. Or, perhaps your story has changed and you’ve hit new marker points. Great! This means you have a new story. Celebrate that.
  3. Your story is unique. There’s only one story like yours and you get to write it. If you don’t like how the story is unfolding, take a look at it. Look at the characters involved, the marker points, the setting. Is there something that isn’t working with your story? Maybe you’re located in Vancouver but really feel like you should be in New York. Well, you have control over that. This is your story and you get to write it.

We all suffer from insecurity but your story is yours. Write it how you want it to unfold. Some days things are rougher than others and it’s harder to see your story. It’s there and when you need to reorient yourself, it can help you find your way.

