I have bunny tracks in the snow on my patio. This also means I have bunny poop in the snow on my patio but I’m cheerfully ignoring that.

I live in an area where there is an abundance of wildlife. Rabbits, birds even ravens are my neighbours. They are also one of my thousand and one distractions.

My brain works on a system even I don’t understand. If I say I will have something done in two days, it absolutely has to be ready the next day for me to feel comfortable. If I say I’ll have something done well, I will make it amazing. Part of it is a love of my craft. Yes, part of it is also my need to be loved. Some would say I have issues. I say it’s making lemonade.

Speaking of making lemonade, that’s the other thing about my brain. It will happily find a half a dozen things that need to be done at the same time and natter on about each and every one of them until they’re done. For example, I was getting supper ready to go in the slow cooker. Have I mentioned I love my slow cooker? I make all kinds of things in it. Oh, yeah. Back to my point. Getting supper ready in the slow cooker and I decide I need bread. So I start getting ingredients for the bread machine. Back to the slow cooker. Oh look! Chocolates. I haven’t had lunch yet. Nothing interests me.

In the midst of all this I manage to finish getting supper ready, put bread on, sneak a chocolate and finish a story. I still have no idea how. I’ve learned to stop fighting it. I’m sure most people would stare at me like I’m a lunatic, but this is the track my brain runs on and if I try to change that it gets derailed.

And I’m not the only… oh look! The sun is glinting off the snow. Isn’t that pretty.

When I was working for someone else, this scatterbrain working drove 99% of them crazy. There was one, though, that accepted it for what it was; just my mojo. He was a very large man with a big booming voice that made me jump if I wasn’t aware he was around me. I asked him how he was able to accept it and others weren’t.

He said that he hired me to get a job done. I got the job done quickly and well. That’s all he really cared about and if he messed with my mojo (as he put it), then it wasn’t likely I’d do as good a job as quickly or as happily.

When you run a business you run in to different personalities. Traditionally, businesses would find they had a particular job open and fit the person to the job. However, that’s changing. More and more businesses are finding the person and fitting the job to them. Sounds backwards, yet it works for a lot of companies. Rather than spending a great deal of money to find out you’ve hired the star shaped peg to go in to the square hole, you learn to use that star shape to your advantage.

So, how does it work then? Shouldn’t a business at least have some idea of what they need before they hire?

No.

Determine what your budget is for hiring employees. If you have room in your budget, start looking for the person you’d like to work for you. Yes, their experience and history is important, but not the first thing you should be examining. What’s important to you? Loyalty? Honesty? Hard work? What do you want in your employees? Look for that first. Hire them. Find out what they’re good at and let them do it. Yes, it’s a little bit of letting your workers determine their own jobs, but they know how they work best. No, don’t hire an accountant to work in your warehouse unless he tells you he likes lifting and hates math.

You still need to steer the ship. You set the goals. You set the limits of what they do. You decide what work needs to be done. Nothing else changes except how you bring them in to your company and where they fit. Yes, there will be some growing pains, but it’s the businesses that think outside of traditional methods that move forward.

And there are bunny prints in the snow.

